The Ringways Askern 10

I'm thinking of doing this in preparation for the GNR, which I'm currently training for. I've been running for 14 months (starting from scratch) but took 2 months out in Feb/March due to injury. I did my second 10K yesterday in just over 68 mins, so I'm a plodder really! I really run for pleasure and fitness, but it is nice to have a challenge now and then.

Would I look too out of place in this race? I see that previous last finishing times range from 140 - 111 mins. My predicted time based on yesterday's 10K is around 112 mins. I intend to build up my long runs quite gradually as I'm not a spring chicken (!) and don't want to injure my foot again.

I'd really appreciate any views, thanks.

Comments

• I'm a bit like you raring to go, need to build up my distance for gnr but not exactly a pro and nobody likes to come last :) So yes views on this would be great!
  • Hi all!

Yes Id like views on this as I havent done it before.
    I agree ideal training towards gnr.

• Katie - why not join us on the GNR chatline? I'm finding it great motivation, they are a great bunch and very encouraging for first timers and people who are working on increasing distance (including slow ones, like me :-))

http://www.runnersworld.co.uk/forum/forummessages.asp?UTN=90358&URN=6&dt=4&srchdte=0&cp=1&v=1&sp=
  • Yes come and join us Katie! Plenty of advice and support and chat and stuff!
  • I'll be doing this race, it's really a back up race if things don't go well at Sale 10 the week before, but even if they do I'll still give it a bash.

Any info on the course route would be appreciated.

• Have done this race 5 times.

It is a cracking race albeit very hilly, what do you expect in Doncaster. Would recommend it as a stand alone race but it is perfect as a pre GNR race also.

It's well marshalled and the route is scenic.

We always take a good 30 runners from our club in Liverpool, and manage to win a few prizes usually, thats how good we think it is.