Wed 27th June 2007

13»

Comments

• Tom.Tom. ✭✭✭
    Good evening. Sadly no run for me today as the knee was very sore and stiff on waking this morning. It would seem that the fragility of the injury is such that it is unable to cope with a total of 3.7 miles run slowly over a period of three days.

I’m just starting the twelfth week of my well documented injury and am now a shadow of my former self. So far every effort I’ve made has yielded no improvement and failed to stem the gradual decline of fitness. I’ve experimented with every combination of jogging, running, walking, resting, stretching, strengthening and self massage – all to no avail.

So what's to be done.....

I've been running for just under five years and reached my zenith, which lasted a full three months, back in early 2005. Since then I've struggled with injury and declining performances. Now I've slumped to a nadir where I just can't run free of pain any more. As they say, when your in a hole, that's the time to stop digging. So it's time to throw away the spade.

This no man's land of ongoing injury is not for me. I'm happy when I'm running, even though my expectations may not be met and I'm equally happy when I'm not - after all I spent 25 years without it. What I can't handle is this self dillusional state where I'm neither one thing or the other. So no more running from me for as while.

I'll carry on lurking and posting if I've got any thing worthwhile to say. But for the forseeable future it's no more "whats", "whys and "last hards"

• sad to hear that tom. Hope it comes right sooner rather than later.

What: 12 miles cycled running errands
    Why: non running day
  • 40 minutes40 minutes ✭✭✭
    Tom
    I will miss your posts, I particularly enjoyed your recent first post after your enforced rest!
    Hopefully a brief total break will enable you to come back refreshed & able to enjoy your running again.