Fairlands Valley Challenge Multi-Terrain Marathon

Am I the only one doing this?

Comments

• Possibly going to enter on the day. Sounds good fun.
  • Hi Too much water . I have done a couple of these multi-terrain marathons now and I think they are more fun than some of the flat ones.
    I am still learning how to follow the route without getting lost. Hopefully I will get better!
  • do i need to learn the route or buy a map? i was hoping to follow the route description, i've not got lost so far.

the flat city races are best left to those who like them, don't want too many people clogging up the trails!

i've done Beachy Head and the Clarendon Way marathons, plus a few other trail races... it will depend on how i get round the kent 50 mile challenge on Sunday

• We did this one a couple of years ago, it's fantastic especially the bread pudding!!

The route description is fine to get round on .......... we managed it!
  • I was just going to use the route discription to get round.I am glad to hear that you managed it Moe.

Good luck on sunday with your 50 mile challenge TMW. I did a 33 mile race last weekend which was a monster to me.
  • Not done this one before but have done a few simlar events. They are much more fun then running in a pack of thusands on tarmac/concrete. Will be there
  • The route discription things is a good idea and what makes the event goo. Anybody can follow marshells and lots of other people and run 26 miles. But it is a bit more taxing having to read and work out you route as you go.
  • We did the 18 mile and the countryside is cracking, it'd be a crime to go too fast! I'd be tempted to do the 26 next time ........ if only for an extra piece of bread pudding!
  • yup, just entered. Any copies of the route description from previous years around?
  • This is my first time off tarmac. And I normally manage to get lost even with all the marshals. (Good this I'm only doing the 18 mile option).

Any tips for a first timer?
  • hello folks