Foot and Mouth

Comments

• Preface: I'm a veterinarian.

The reason for disinfecting shoes, car tires/ undercarriage etc is that you can easily carry the virus from place to place by stepping in something (easily done on a farm) and carrying it in on your boots to the next farm.

FMD virus can travel quite a long way airborne. Any infected animal can act as a source of airborne viruses, NOT just pigs. But pigs are "incubation" vessels. They "amplify" the virus and shed large quantities. But an infected herd of 60 cattle is going to be releasing a fair bit into the wind. It can travel at least 10km. We're not sure how much further. People can also potentially spread it - if it gets into your nostrils and you then rebreathe virus particles onto another animal. But you would have to be in close contact with said animals - not just running through a field.

For what its worth, as soon as I heard the location of the Pride's farm (the first one) I was suspicious - being so close to Merial's lab (Pirbright) had to be more than a coincidence. It would be EXTREMELY unlikley for finishing cattle (which is what the Pride's produce) to be the index case.

We'll have to wait and see. I may be doing a hell of a lot of blood testing over the next few months!
  • Thanks for that - I didn't know it could travel so far on the wind.

I guess thats why Im the sheep farmer and you're the vet :-))

• I'm pretty sure you know more about sheep than me!! Horses are my speciality. I'm an experienced lamber though - in 2001 (I was still a student then) I was lambing in Cumbria, so I also got rather too much first-hand experience of the disease and its effects.

Good to see someone actually impliments the isolation policy though. So much of the time it seems like advice that people chalk up to "theory" and then happily ignore.

What size flock do you have? Just sheep?