Keep stopping to walk

2»

Comments

• walkman
    speedwork isnt sprinting
    just intervals of a bit faster speed for 2 mins at a time
    with walk breaks to recover
    repeat 6 times
  • Well that's more or less the pattern I run to anyway - I run as much as I feel comfortable with, then walk about 1min then run again. But I'm not sure I could do any at a faster pace, I reckon I would be pushing too hard.
  • nrg-bnrg-b ✭✭✭
    I'm very new to running - started June 2003 so I'm still learning. I always walk for a bit during a run.

In the Nike 10k round Richmond Park last Sep, I walked for a minute at each waterstation (2mins in total). I completed the race in 47mins.

I have a local route (relatively hilly) which is 2.6km per lap. Every 2 laps (5.2 km) I walk for a minute which involves some stretching too. Yesterday I did 21km (13 miles), walking 1min in between each 5.2km section ie total of 3 min. I finished in 1 hr 47 mins.

The walk (& stretching) really aids me to recover so that I can continue.

NRG-B

PS: Did my post make sense?
  • Sounds pretty good to me. 10k - that's roughly 6 miles isn't it? Well it takes me an hour to do 5 miles, longer if I run it all the way, so walking parts does help somehow but I can't quite get my head round the logic of it.
  • i think you two are talking about planned walk breaks to finish the run
    Interval training is different
    The point is to push yourself a bit, maybe only for a minute at a time
    then walk to get your breath back
    repeat up to 6 times
  • Well we're obviously both beginners, Hippo, and at least one of us hasn't a clue. I thought it was all about getting out there doing the miles and the times (and the weight) would go down. Obviously it's not so simple as that, what with intervals, fartlek, and hill reps, Wow!! You've got to learn the language before you know what anybody's talking about. A bit like going to France:-)