the best first duathlon....

Hi all,

I love running but would like to try a Duathlon, run @ bike, but i am completely new to it and dont really know where to look or start, does anyone know a good starter event to have a go at?

I am 39 and run at 7.5 minute mile, i was also told that there are vet triathlon events which incorporate the same diciplines but over less distances.

Links and advice would be appreciated, just fancied giving it ago as well as my normal running as well i like to ride.

Regards

Comments

• PhilPubPhilPub ✭✭✭
    Gary,

I'm not an expert but just wanted to recommend giving it a go having recently done my first duathlon. I don't know where you're based but I did the London Duathlon in Richmond Park - lovely venue and very well organised event.

The British Triathlon Federation may be a good place to check listings, and I'd also recommend asking over in the triathlon forum here.

http://www.britishtriathlon.org/

I've been warned it's a slippery slope from dua- to tri- but quite frankly I think I'll give open water swimming a miss for a little while longer...image
  • Thanks Philpub,

Had a look will look into it again when i have a spare moment, but it all seems a bit biased towards the elite and big fast and pro events anf runners, but i guess its just a case of turning up and having ago.....which is fine. dont mind coming in last and me bikes not quite top of the range either.

Just get the feeling that maybe duathlon and triathlon event organisers are for the more accomplished runners out there rather than the newish people.

I will try and get an event in the new year in am based out of Nottingham at present.

Cheers again. image

• Feb march and spetember october are the Du season.
  • Hi Gary

Mud Sweat and Gears at Sherwood Pines could be a start if you fancy an off road Duathlon, if it is run again next year.

Organised by the peeps at One Step Beyond, this year it was held in April (April the first for all the fools image)