Options

Do we pamper ourselves too much this day and age?

2»

Comments

• Options

Slugsta - I don't know of any useful stats to support or disprove that, but I reckon there are probably a higher proportion of barefoot runners in Africa than there are in the West.  I don't think that they have any physical enhancements that make it easier for them to do it though, so it must be down to different technique.

There was also a video gait analysis of the top 100 runners at one Olympics which showed they all ran off their forefoot.

Perhaps leg length discrepency and other physical differences from the norm are magnified by poor technique. Or taken another way, learning a different running technique may have a much greater and more reliable effect in mitigating such problems than cushioned shoes and orthotics could ever hope to. 

Ultra-ironwolf... I'm no doctor, but does your condition mean you need good shoes to reduce the impact and irregularities in your gait? If changing your technique reduces both more effectively, for less money, would that be better?

• Options
    agree about the water stations during a 10k or below, in cold weather - not really needed
  • Options

Unless you have a hangover.

Like I did.  

• Options

What about running clothing? I don't mean skins or anything, but the 'base layers' and long-sleeve t's, and the waterproof jackets that cost £120! To me, a waterproof jacket does not need to cost more than £20. It doesn't make me run faster, or feed me, or motivate me. All it should do is stop the snow from freezing my limbs off.

And when I go to Aldi they're £7.99.