Teeth.... dentistry.... and sports drinks.....

Is eating a gel and drinking water during training or a race about the same as drinking an isotonic sports drink? My dentist has filled me with gloom about the state of my teeth, and told me to give up sports drinks and orange squash. I wouldn't have said I drank too much of that stuff, but I am wondering if substituting it for gels and water would be better. 

She seemed to think I didn't really need sugary stuff - but I've always found it quite hard to get through a marathon (and indeed, marathon training) without a few jelly babies and a swig of lucozade sport. Never got on well with eating a banana or suchlike - chewing and running really doesn't work for me!

The dentist rattled off a big list of things for me to 'give up' - tea, coffee, alcohol, and fizzy drinks... but I don't drink any of them anyway (i'm a librarian... do I need to say any more?). I do have a weakness for chocolate and sweet stuff, but I wouldn't have said I overdid it. Which means I'm not really sure what I can do to stop the enamel giving up altogether.

Any ideas or should I buy myself a set of dentures and quit worrying?!!

Comments

• The way I understand it is : You are better off having a cup of tea with ten sugars in than 10 cups of tea with one sugar in. Saliva can deal with 10 sugars in one go but can't cope with constant bathing in sugar. Save your sweet tooth for your long runs, water is good enough for all other runs but if you need an energy kick try guarana liquid extract.
  • Nick LNick L ✭✭✭

hello Jo!

ive had my dentist tell me about sports drinks and the like...whcih is why I dont drink them.

Few things you can do:

Chew gum; Use flouride mouthwash; use some of the 'remineralising' toothpastes.

When you do run and you need to eat stuff....try and have some gum handy to chew after eating to neutralise the acid in your saliva.