GFA? is it possible for the average person?

Every year people seem to moan about the ballot and how unfair it is. Fair enough but can people get around the ballot and achieve a Good For Age time and qualify by right? Can the average person achieve GFA in a year? Do people think this is possible? Debate

Comments

• I am very average (probably below average in terms of running ability/speed) yet I managed 3:45:05 last Sunday. Missed GFA by 5 secs but that's due to the congestion. Will try again.
  • fat facefat face ✭✭✭

Tortie - if you phone up the London Marathon peeps and tell them, they may well let you in on a GFA. I'm sure it has happened in the past.

Good luck. 

• I've been running for 4-5 years, 3 times a week, never been good at sports AND I managed to secure a GFA place for next year. I'm soooo surprised and delighted image   I don't want to say that I was completely unprepared, I did put some effort into my training, but I am not "special" by any means.

• I have been asking myself the same question - I think if you put running ahead of work and family and really put the training in then it should be possible for most folks, with good coaching and a bit of luck. Of course most people simply aren't in a position to make that sort of commitment so it doesn't arise.

Much better to ask this sort of question than to obsess about all the other minor frustrations that arise with a big event like FLM!! image

• Keith LKeith L ✭✭✭

Well I think I am pretty "normal". Turned 40 last year (which admittedly makes the GFA easier). Dont want this post to be taken as a "wow look at me" but just as look at whats possible

Started running on the 2nd March 2007 so running just over a year. Prior to that had done no exercise at all for ever - no football, running anything really. Last time I seriously exercised was at school literally. So 22 years or so with nothing.