Total, absolute beginner seeking encouragement

Well, Hello everyone. I started running about 5 or 6 weeks ago after (stupidly?) telling someone I'd do the Race for Life with her. I've been following the programme in "Running Made Easy" - don't know how recommended that book is - because it looked slower and easier than some other I have seen. I'm currently doing 2 mins running/2 mins walking for about half an hour. I know I'm getting fitter - 1 minute was enough to have me thinking I was dying a few weeks ago, but 2 mins is fairly comfortable now and I can run for 5 minutes if I go slow on a treadmill.

Anyway, I have stupidly entered for a 10k in September, which I am regretting as I can't see myself being able to do it before everyone gives me up for dead and goes home! I entered because I have found having a goal to work towards is the only thing which will motivate me to get up off my backside and go and do something about getting fitter/losing weight.

I have 2 young children and was a real couch potato until 6 weeks ago. By the way, do I need one of those Nike+ things (I already have an ipod), will it help motivate and encourage me? And what is a good next stage book?

Many Thanks,

Comments

• Kate - Well done on starting your running program. Setting a goal has given you a real target to aim at and you are progressing which is great.

Setting another goal of the 10k isn't daft and definately not stupid.

Just keep building up slowly and avoid the temptation to increase your training load too quickly.

Books and stuff are nice and there is loads on this site to read through but you are doing fine already.

• well done for entering a 10k the book you have used is one i have used before and i have many books and find this one really good. keep up the good work
  • Well done for taking the plunge, we've all been at your stage, so well done for that.