2009 Halstead & Essex Marathon

Comments

• Kaz: I do all of my long slow runs at night so running at night doesn't really put me off at all.

ORB:  I think you're doing too much too soon. Go shorter and build the mileage rather than ploughing in at 8 miles. Sounds like you're still under the weather.

• Don't usually do any real long stuff in the evenings.  Silly really but I'm just not that comfortable doing a long one on my own in the dark.

ORB, agree with Flynn.  To come back from the flu to daily 8 mile runs is a lot.  I had a really bad cold/cough back in August and I felt dreadful for a couple of weeks after I started training again.  I was a few weeks off back to back marathons so I had to force myself to get out there but the only way I could get the mileage in was to go back to basics and do a run/walk strategy.

• RFJRFJ ✭✭✭

Still base traing, but have just hit 195m for Dec,

Targets are shifting for this, now aiming at sub 3:15 from the original 3:30

ORB when is the Orion 15 please.

•  I feel as though I'm intruding into a hallowed space! You guys are discussing your training schedules, while my thoughts are entirely on this evening's Hogmanay revelries - notwithstanding my "participation" in next Sunday's 100 Marathon Club AGM Marathon.  RFJ's mileage for December is more than a third of my total effort for 2008! 

I may have missed a posting, but perhaps Flynn... now UltraFlynn, I see!...... would let me know whether it was decided to have an ultra alongside next year's Halstead Marathon?

Enjoy your training everyone and I look forward to meeting some of you in the New Year...... before you start running and I can't catch you!

• RFJRFJ ✭✭✭

Peter, there is an ultra, see attached link ultra 

Is that due injury ref the milage, (that was my highest this year, by 1m)

Happy new year and hope there arent too many sore heads tomorrow