Options

Calling all Bupa Great North Run hopefuls

Comments

• Options

Hi,

I am a complete novice, more adept to running 3-5k on a running machine at my local Fitness First in Eastbourne. I would welcome the opportunity to train for such a big event. I think given help we are all able to achieve something in our lives.

Running the Great North Run would give me a sense of pride and a chance to get off my butt and do something worthwhile. Too much of my time is spent sofa soafing and channel flicking. I need a challenge!!!

• Options

I’m 51, I’ve been running for around 4 years and enjoy challenging myself. Whatever target I set, I do my utmost to achieve it. I love racing, I’ve run 7 races so far this year – including Bath, Tewkesbury and Malvern half marathons; Gloucester 20 mile road race; Hereford; Warndon Villages 10k, and Dudley Hearts First 5 miles. I’ve also successfully completed a challenge 50-mile walk in May,(Challenge4Charity) and was in the first group of four to complete the walk, in 20 hours. My half-marathon pb is 2:10:33, and I know that I could shave off minutes with the support of professionals. I have been a subscriber of Runners World magazine since I started running, and have found the articles both in the magazine and on the website very useful and interesting. I will always run, because it is one of the most important things in my life – it gives me the energy and enthusiasm in my stressful but very enjoyable job as a Teaching Assistant in a High School. I would love to take on this ultimate challenge, which will probably be the last chance I have before age takes over and my times start to come down – I need to prove that I can, with help, run a sub-2 hour half marathon – and where better than the Great North Run, which will take me back to my northern roots, where I was born and brought up.

• Options
    i thought this was meant to be 1 person 1 chance
  • Options