Is a GPS that much more accurate than a Foot Pod

I have been looking at a HR and mile/speed machine.  Shop staff have been addiment a foot pod on my shoe is accurate for distance.  But I know how much my stride can vary depending on distance, terrain, general mood.  Are they considered that accurate?

Comments

• I have used a Polar 625 and a Polar R800SD both with foot pods and I think they are brilliant and I think personally they are very accurate for distance & speed.  I do not leave my house for a run without it.  They are both great heart rate monitors as well.  I used a Garmin 305 for a while and found the heart rate function to be lacking but had no complaints about signal or the distance/speed functions.  Hope this helps.
  • The missus uses a Garmin Neil, and its spot on for distance/speed, don't know about the HR function, she doesn't use it.
  • I am new to Garmin but have found it's pretty unreliable, so far, as far as distance is concerned.  8 + mile runs have shrunk to 4 and 5 mile runs.  No problems with the HR facility.  I have now invested some more sheckles in a footpod for the 305 and hope to use it as a complement to the GPS though the 305 doesn't use both feeds at once and it's one or the other.  A Garmin 50 with pootpod and HR chest strap would have cost £100, the 305 cost £140 (+ £30 for the footpod).
  • I used to use a Garmin all the time, but I found that if you do runs where there is a u turn, it sometimes misses out the turn and thinks you haven't run anywhere. Since I discovered www.mapmyrun.com where you can zoom down to pavement level and accurately measure all your routes, (click on the hybrid or satelite view rather than street map), I haven't used the gadget!
  • Or you can use www.gmap-pedometer.com and map your run then click on the hybrid button and you get it in technicolour glory i.e. birds eye photo of what you've just done.  Being a geek - my god, I just LOVE maps - it's how I get my kicks these days.