Not able to run 5k thread

Comments

• Hi and welcome, I'm a beginner aswell. Well done on the start you've made.

TOTM affects my everything, I've been told that as fitness/nutrition improves so do your hormonal balances cant only be a good thing cant it.

As for 5km events have you seen if there are any Race For Life events near you. Women only and more about the event than the speed/times. You can walk the 5km if you want.

Some advice I was wisely given was to forget the speed of my run/walk just be proud of what you are doing.

Enjoy your running and good luck with WW.

• Thanks Gem,  I am just happy to be running at the moment.  I haven't even thought about times yet.  My first goal is to get to run for fifteen minutes continually, and I don't care how long it takes.  I'm out again tomorrow morning, today is a rest day. 

There is a RFL near me this weekend, too late to enter now, but I will definitely do one around September time I think.  I'm very lucky to live in a valley in the countryside so I get to have a lovely view whilst I'm run/walking.  I don't know if I'd be running outside if I still lived in London!

• Morning all.

I'm feeling really chuffed today - I went out for my early morning run/walk today, and started with my usual 3 mins run / 1 min walk.  I repeated a couple of times, and for the first time ever I didn't feel puffed out or tired, so decided to just run for as long as I could manage.

I actually ran for 10 minutes without stopping!  That's just unbelievable for me!  I couldn't understand how I could improve so substantially in such a short time!

The challenge now is to be able to do that again on Saturday morning - I'm nervous that it was a "one off" and I won't be able to do it again.

Came home feeling absolutely pleased as punch!

• That's great Sue!  And promising for someone like me who is still at the very beginning!

I dream about being able to run for 10 minutes! lol x