Clowne Half-Marathon

123457»

Comments

• I agree with lots of whats been said

but i guess what ever they do they cannot win really

because of my situation i have my own fruit squash water bottles on board, and a plain water cooling bottle for when needed

i also have to let Phillip drink on route, and it's best i know he's got what he likes

• Hello. I did the Clowne half-marathon (my first half-marathon) yesterday and was chuffed to get round in 1 hour 43 minutes. I didn’t expect any time in particular, I just ran at my normal steady pace and that’s what I ended up with. Cheers to all that organised it, I thought it was organised really well although I have little experience of organised races in fairness. My usual runs are quite hilly so I didn’t find this course too testing in that respect. It’s an undulating course but the climbs are certainly manageable.
  • Really well done ladies and gentlemen,

Let's all remember Clowne is a small town and they do really well, you also listen to the runners feedback - the police presence at the start, really helped the race flow, this year, and the marshalls were excellent. I also liked the wicking nylon t-shirt, better to pay a little more and receive a shirt you will use, rather than a cotton draw filler; cannot wait for it to be a little warmer to wear it again.

I know you manged to get a water sponsor, and it's hard work being the race director, so again well done, next year either cups or smaller isotonic bottles - overall though will be there for no 26 , I managed 1:56.image

• as far as the water goes - i'm with Angie, i can't drink from cups. my first few races were in the heat of the summer and i struggled to get more than a mouthful from the cups when i really needed it. didn't need to drink quite as badly yesterday but over that distance i like to get some liquid on board, and my chances are far better from a bottle so thanks guys!