Breathless

Advice urgently required!!!! I've been running for about 3 months, going from nothing to 5km! All my training is in the gym, and I quite comfortably run 5km in about 32mins - however, when I venture outside (I'm running the Race for Life June 1st), I can't run more than 0.5 mile without ending up massively out of breath and needing to stop. I smoked for many years (gave up 2 years ago) and suffer mild asthma - but don't understand why outside is so different from the gym. Any ideas how I can improve my outdoor running???

Comments

• run outdoors more for a start.

it will be different, different air temperature, adn more car fumes definately, this always is a barrier to good breathing.

go for a few runs without the watch, just in one direction for a while and then back again, concentrate on keeping moving and breating efficiently,

you could try the two and two breathing movement, where you count the inhaled and exhaled breaths by the number of footstrikes. try this one:

two strikes in adn two strikes out. you breathe in as fast as out.

so the rythm is
    in in , out out, in in, out out

you can count in your mind, 1, 2, 3, 4; 1, 2, 3, 4,
    and so on. if you go running with focus primarily on kekeping moving and breathing, the rest should come easily.

this is not a critiscism, but in a gym, on a treadmill, when you run at the sort of speed you are now, about 6-7 mins/km, breathing is not a big issue,
    you do have time to breathe in only through the mouth or in a more relaxed fsahion.
    the effort exerted in a gym treadmill is also usually less, as a result, it will automatically feel much more difficult running outside, especially if there are inclines in your outdoor run. therefore the only way to improve outside is by running more outside, not really a problem if the weather's good, right?!?!

have fun
    good luck in your race, and i hope you are breathinbg deeply by race day