Options

Benefits of using Udo's oil?

Comments

• Options

Funny you should mention snake oil - chinese (water?) snakes have decent levels of EPA in them, which is why their oil was used as an anti-inflammatory. When the practice moved continents, other snakes had lower amounts, and the product wasn't any good any more..!

My background is sciencey too - BSc Hons in Biochemisry with Molecular Biology here @ leeds, original plan was to become a doctor, but to be frank, uni was so unstructured for me, I didn't achieve what I should of. Anyway, that's another story!

There is certainly alternative medicine that works, and alternative medicine that doesn't work. If you think the same isn't true for western medicine, you need to look at the figures again. From a personal perspective I was set to have 150mg Diclofenac every day for as far in the future as I can imagine (the joys of ankylosing spondylitis) - then I sprained my foot and it refused to heal thanks to the anti-inflammatories. In sheer anoyance I did an intollerance test, dropped eggs from my diet as a result, and started my oil & soup breakfast regime. I haven't had to have any NSAIDs since May - bar when on holiday a dish I orderred came stuffed full of egg, and I decided "bugger it, worth a test" - ow is all I'll say for the next day. I'm still waiting for my june follow-up apppintment (!) - I'm sure when I finally do get to see the doc she will be a bit surprised/confused. image