Corporate pants

Can I have a whinge?

Can I just say what a load of pants is talked in the corporate world. At the moment its all very touchy feely, talking "words" about the need to recognise that people need balance in their lives, need to spend more time with their families, need not to have a heart attack at work......

.........and then.....

Got to work 'smarter'.
Got to downsize.
Got to delayer.

Read - get rid of a load of people and work the nuts off the ones that you are retaining.

I'm a boss, so a lot of the pure rubbish I can avoid - but nobody is expendable these days - people tell me I am the most diplomatic person they have ever met but its REALLY hard trying to be considerate when someone is being an ar5e and you know you just want to tell that person to go stuff and THEY know you want to tell them to go stuff but you can't do it.

What really bugs everyone else?

Rant over - I'm looking forward to my run tonight!

Comments

• Martin

you're dead right. I work in IT and its full of buzz words and jargon a la :-

'lets take this off line here and talk about it later'
    'we need to refocus' = we messed up first time and need to have another go
    'we're undergoing a restructuring exercise' = who can we make redundant
    'we must fully utilise our resources' = make sure we flog our workforce to death
    'take some new ideas to market' = get people to buy stuff from us
    'this is a great opportunity' = I'm giving you something really nasty to do that everyone else has successfully avoided.
    'we're all stakeholders in the success of this project' = if it goes wrong we all carry the can, if it goes right it was all down to me

On my last project the phrase work smarter was uttered at least once or twice a day by the management when what they meant was we've got to cram more than 24 hours in the day!

Don't even get me started on company 'values'. Sheesh....