coming back from foot stress fracture

OK I've done the sensible thing and not run for 6 weeks so that it can heal properly nosw I am going to start running again from Monday, I've missed it like crazy sad I know but now I want to stay injury free. Any advice from anyone on how I should start my running again and please don't say one step in front of the other lol. I was clipping along at 8 miles an hour prior to getting injured how should I start back I am afraid of doing too much but at the same time I want to run as much as I can. oh and I'm signed up for the Liverpool half on 28th March and Edinburgh marathon 23rd May so i need to get going aswell

Cheers in anticipation 

G

Comments

• I'm a relative novice, so you might want to wait for a higher level of expertise, but I had a metatarsal stress fracture 6 months ago and thanks to assembled advice, got back to running without problem.

After 6 weeks off (during which I did a lot of walking), there was still a little tenderness, so I waited another week. I did a lot of massaging, and bought new trainers to alternate with my usual ones, making sure the new ones were wide enough at the toes for plenty of freedom, and fastening my trainers loosely at the toes for the same reason. I started off with a run a lamp post, walk a lamp post session, and built up carefully over a few days, always ready to walk when I tired, which is when my posture goes and my feet begin to flap. 10 days and 10 runs later, I was running freely, though it took weeks to get fully back to where I was. I was, and still am, wary of roadside and pavement cambers which I suspect caused my injury, and cause lots of other running injuries.

Build gently for ten days and you should be fine.