Too long to recover from 18-20m runs

I am a novice training for my first marathon (VLM 25th April) & am now entering the period of high mileage long runs on Sundays.  I did a half marathon a few weeks ago with no problem,  then a 16m 2 weeks ago, an 18m last Sunday, & planning a 20m this weekend. 

My problem is that I ache so much in the days following these longer runs I am now finding it difficult to do any shorter ones on the weekdays.  In fact it is all I can do to run a slow 5miler by about Thursday, intervals or fast runs are nigh on impossible.  (Were fine a month ago) - I recover enough to manage the long run mileage by the following Sunday (but slow).  What am I doing wrong?

Comments

• usually if yiou taking that ong to recover you have done the run too fast......it should be slower than you your planned marathon pace..........

did you do much running before you started on this programme.might be just too much too soon........

Its not easy training.have you tried having a sport massage a day or 2 after your long run.........or I go out the following day and do a few miles really really slowly just to let the legs loosen up again after the run..

good luck

• MoraghanMoraghan ✭✭✭

miss slow

A few assumptions here, based on your statement 'novice training for marathon' and what you are experiencing.

It simply sounds as though you aren't doing sufficient mileage to support the stress of your long run. 

What's the answer?

Well you have to do long runs if you are going to do a marathon.  But you can't effectively run the long runs off very low weekly mileage.  Therefore you shouldn't be training for a marathon off low mileage.  But you can't ramp up to sufficient mileage over a short time period.  Therefore the marathon is the wrong event for you at this point in your running career.