Moraghan Coaching - kaysdee

Hello image

Another guinea pig here. My short term target is the Abingdon marathon in October, but my main focus is to learn how to train more effectively and carry any improvements into the future.

I have a rough target time of sub 3.30, but technically I “should” be able to achieve that using various calculators at my current fitness now. The test is putting it into practice.

I plan to evaluate this target nearer the time based on results of races between now and then.

A longer term goal (however many years it takes) is to achieve around an early 40’s 10k,  1.30 half and a 3.15 marathon.

I’ve been running for just over 2 years and don’t claim to be anything more than an average runner, but am keen to see how far I can go.

I started out at 30mpw and have built that up to 60mpw currently.

My weakness is in not having a clear purpose for each session and pacing issues.

I feel that I have lots of room to train smarter.

I am aware that the relationship between my pb’s and distances do not equate so this is also what I want to work on.

Current pb’s –

5k – 21.03

10k – 45.34 (from last year, hoping to beat that on Sunday)

5M – 35.17

10M – 1.14

Half – 1.41.10

Mara – 3.50.34 (from a year ago, have improved lots since then. Hopefully!)

Age – 33

Height – 5’ 5

Weight – 8st 10 (maybe a couple pounds heavier right now)

BMI – 20.3

Weekly mileage – 60mpw over 6 days

I won’t put up a training schedule for the next couple of weeks as it will look very boring, since I am tapering for Blackpool Marathon on 11th April.

I have 3 children, aged 6, 4 and 3 so my training has to fit in around them.

As such I tend to do my LSR on a Thurs or Fri.

My eldest two are in school and my youngest just started playgroup today that that gives me a little more flexibility and a bit less of a guilt complex (!)