Cycling to work

2»

Comments

• I'm impressed with the distance you're commuting, and as someone already said, if you can manage it and do a full day's work then you're not nuts!
    I cycle to work sometimes on a mountain bike with thick knobbly tyres, but it's only 11 mile round trip, though it does involve a nasty hill on the way home!
  • I've been cycling to work for just over two years, on a crappy hard-tail MTB, but fitted with slicks (it has to live outdoors so no good having anything valuable!).
    And last August the car actually got scrapped, so I'm a cyclist only (but with use of Mr Frodo's car, which is a bit of a cheat, I know).

I too rely on the deodorant and face wipes method as it's only 5 miles of flat cycling. (Though I often potter off for a longer ride on the way home when the weather is good image )

This time of year is the best, with bright spring sunshine in the morning that really lifts the soul, though a little irritating dressing appropriately for 1-2 degrees in the morning and then 16+ degrees on the way home image

December-February is the worst; dark, freezing and wet and the drivers are even worse as they seem to be even dopier in winter. Ice is a nightmare too - came off the bike last year and gave myself whiplash which is still being treated by the physio/chiropractor.

Just contemplating swapping to running in and back, but that will mean showering and making sure I have enough stuff at work for this, so alternating running and cycling and getting kit and work clothes to the right place...logistical nightmare image
  • * Frodo * wrote (see)
     This time of year is the best, with bright spring sunshine in the morning that really lifts the soul, though a little irritating dressing appropriately for 1-2 degrees in the morning and then 16+ degrees on the way home image