Eating disorders

After being overweight as a child I suffered from bullimia from the age of 12 until finally, with professional help, overcoming it approx 5 years ago. I found running the most important aspect of that recovery - I can allow myself to eat after a hard run and can't train without eating. However I, like many runners am constantly trying to keep to a very low body weight (in my case just on or below 8 stone for a 5 ft 6in frame). Does any other runner feel that running is vital in haulting a eating disorder but there is still constant pressure within running to keep so thin?

Comments

• that really does seem an incredibley low weight to height ratio even if you do run distance & even though I am no expert at all I would imagine as muscle weighs more than fat its about how your body performs & not what weight you are.....but someone will probably tell me I am wrong
  • I could not care less about my running weight although being honest I would rather put a bit more on and the only way I find I am able to do that is by training and building muscle.
    Being as naturally thin myself, currently 9st 3 for someone who is 5ft 9

I personally think that you have an exceptionally low weight expecially if you are male, and probably have very low fat, body water as i know that I do

• Having had eating disorders all my life I sort of understand your thinking. Running regularly does really help me stop worrying so much about what I eat. Although in your case it seems like your not completely over it since you seem to still obsess a bit about weight, food and exercise. But you seem to be on the right way.

True many runners worry about weight, overweight people do it for natural reasons, but it is very common for runners to have eating disorders and you need to stop comparing yourself to them.