How safe is it out there?

I am quite new to running, and I wondered what sort of experiences other females have had while running alone.
I live in a rural area with a very low crime rate, but I do not really feel comfortable running alone. I tend to stick to the pavements around the village, rather than cross country where I would like to run. I will not be running alone in the dark, I'm thinking of joining a running club once the dark nights start, although this means a drive of about 25 miles.
Am I overreacting, and being over cautious? Is it safer out there than I think (if you disregard being shot at, the experiences of pilgrim runner. Would love to hear the responses from other female runners.
Of course, my husband just goes out and runs whenever/wherever he wants!

Comments

• I don't find many problems - but then the sight of a red in the face puffing woman probably scares anyone off!! I have a waist bag with my phone in it in case of emergencies/accidents, and that always makes me feel more confident. Just be aware of your surroundings, always (as I do) tell husband where you're running and approx how long you'll be, and enjoy it!
  • Coco-CatCoco-Cat ✭✭✭
    Hi, like you, I am (probably) overly concerned about running on my own. I live in a suburban area but with country trails just 5 mins from my door. I tend not to run those by myself. I run there with my husband about once a week. He is a lot faster than me but he either goes at my pace or takes his bike. Other than that I stick to populated parks by myself, run with a running club once a week and train in the gym/treadmill. I also had a running partner for a while although she has just chickened out on me. You could post a message on one of the forums asking for a running partner near you....that would probably solve some of your problems.