5k training - having previously focused on longer distances

Up until now i've focused on longer distances - half marathons and the occasional marathon.  For the last 12 months however I've not run that much, but have retained a fair amount of fitness.  I've now entered a 5k this summer.  Any tips as to how best to train for it?  (Whilst a beginner at 5k, I'm not a running beginner)

Comments

• Depending on your seriousness for racing the 5k, your mileage for 5k's can be lower - long runs don't need to be much more than 10 or 11 miles and can only be about 20% of your weekly mileage - compared to the marathon long run of about 25-30%.

Paces will, obviously, have to change. As will your training priorities. 5k races are primarily determined by your VO2 max - your maximum oxygen uptake, so this should be your main focus for training. Any pace at or above 5k pace will work your VO2 max. Repeats of 3 - 5 minutes are generally good lenghts for interval training - start off by trying something like 3 * 1k @ 5k effort with 90 second jog recoveries. Over time, build these up to 5 * 1 @ 5k effort. Additionally you can do these at 3k effort - 6 * 800m @ 3k effort with 90 second jog recoveries. I would emphisize more on the 5k intervals than the 3k ones, but 3k are also good in moderation.

Lactic Threshold is another big determinant. I'm sure you know about this - either tempo intervals of 1 or 2 miles or continuous (but slower) runs. For some faster LT work - try 10k effort for a few mile intervals.