Options

Ironman Regensburg 7th August 2011 - entries open 5th July

Comments

• Options
    Hey saffers - I've not run a marathon yet, (although I will in 6 weeks time!)image
  • Options
    OC.....its not me that worries about not having run a marathon before I do I'm and I doubt I will have by then. Bloody hubbies. LOL
  • Options

I trained for the VLM and then put in 4 weeks training for the Swashbuckler HIM, and finished in 5:55. This is double right?

So I figure 8 weeks should cover it.image

Dave

• Options

Interesting comments about the time commitment. I'm a newbie 10 weeks away from my first ironman. I am lucky in that most of my kids have left home and there is just my 17yr old son left at home. My OH has been fully supportive but I know he finds it hard at times. Its not the hours of training thats the problem, its the fact that i'm tired a lot of the time (always falling asleep on the setee) and I hardly have any time to help around the house. I am not very house proud but I do sometimes find it hard how messy the house is. My OH does all the cooking and gardening so Ican't complain.

Having said that I wouldn't change anything, I feel likes I already acheived so much and I love being so much fitter. At the moment it feels like each week I knock off a major milestone, 100miler, OW swim, first brick etc.

I haven't finshed the journey but so far I would recommend it to anyone as long you have to be prepared to put in the time and continue when you have setbacks (thats where the forum really helps).

imageimage

• Options
    Purple, your set up sounds like mine really with long suffering, but essentially supportive husband and untidy house!  Kids still at home but don't need taking to school or anything so I can go and swim.
  • Options
    One more year and then my youngest will be at Secondary School so no more school runs.........which will get me one step closer.image
  • Options