Pirate Mentors / Mentorees 2011

Comments

• M..o.useM..o.use ✭✭✭

Melli - I found deep admiration for my slow cooker while training this year.

Yum!

• I feel as though I am missing out with all this talk of cake and cafe stops living down south. But then I can swim in the sea all summer!
  • I was VERY tempted to stop at the ice-cream van at Padley woods after the climb up through Grindleford yesterday, but I resisted as I knew I'd never get going again and still had another 15 miles to ride! I love it round there.
  • Becky, I have no clue about the rest of Tri other than "swim a bit, cycle a bit", but I'll happily help you with running if you want.

My IM ambitions are on more of a 5-year plan than a one-year one at the moment, but I'm going to enjoy doing some little pootles for now image

• I was kind of kidding about the cake stops in my post image as I didn't want to come across as being too serious or up myself -tris are a fun pastime for me, and given that I'm still learning, thought it would be pretty rich to try to come over as some tri-guru! ho hum, lesson learned! In reality, the cake stop tends to come after the hard miles. Mebbe I'm not cut out for mentoring unless I can express myself more clearly image

lee the pea, that'd be great! There's often a group of girlies of varying abilities go out of a Saturday round east lothian, borders, etc. 

• I quite like cake stops - for me they have a place in keeping me interested in cycling year round. I knock them on the head for the last few months of IM training though.

Group rides are good too - for company and again keeping the interest up - but as you race alone - you have to train alone or at least in a small gang - theres no point expecting to sit on someones wheel for 112 miles. 

• so .... im supposed to ride the bike between races?  image