The Alternative Everyone's Welcome GNR 2011 Thread

Hi all - just an alternative thread for GNR newbies. Everyone's welcome hereimage and come and go as you please. No cliqueyness allowed. So start by introducing yourself and your 2011 goal!

I am hoping to do my 10th GNR in 2011 and less than 2 hours will be a good result - long way to go.

Comments

• Hi - good idea.

I am a running newbie based in the north east and looking to do GNR next year. If I don't get through on the ballot I will try to get a charidee place. I was supposed to do it this year but I ended up having to be abroad with work so gave my number to a friend (which I know isn't offically allowed). Wasn't really prepared for it anyway. I am up to 5 mile runs - 3 times a week. Loads of training plans on the net so I am going to grab one of those.

Any tips on maintaining the motivation over the winter? I try to run before work but am wondering how to get my sorry arse out the door on a cold, rainy morning.

• Hi SourSusan - know her well having read plenty of Horrid Henry books in the last few years! How long have you been running?

I have spent the last few years struggling with running motivation so I may not be the best one to answer but when I did used to go out early mornings I used to put my running stuff all out and hang running shirt on the radiator and then set heating to come on 15 mins before wake up so that when alarm clock blasted there was at least a tiny incentive to get in the clothesimage. I am intending to try the same for cycling to work over the winter this year - I read somewhere you should cycle over the winter and then that is worst it can be so the other three seasons are then a relative breeze but we will see.

• image where's my avatar pic gone? I am sure it was there before.
  • Morning BBS image

Busy busy at the mo but will pop in later.  My avatar has disappeared too.

• Ah, it's just come back...bizarre image