Options

Your partner's running support

Comments

• Options
    Mrs BR is tolerant, if not fully appreciative. My job means I can spend plenty of time at home with the family, so no probs.

When the kids are in bed, she watches soap operas and crap TV. I go running and come on here. She doesn't make me do what she wants and vice versa.

She also runs 3 times a week for a bit of keep fit so might understand a bit why I run. She knows I have an obsessive personality and it is better geared towards knocking 5 sec off my 10k pb than drinking or gambling.
  • Options
    However, when I came back home last Weds on cloud nine after finally beating our excellent V40 who I've been chasing for 2 years, I would kave liked something better than

" Well he's not been down the club much recently, has he"?
  • Options
    Did you tell HER that! Communication is the key. Tell her that relentless praise & a big hug etc would have been appropriate.
  • Options
    Blott's mate, that's great to hear there's been a change in your husband's attitude.

Mine's a fair weather cyclist and every April takes his bike down the shop for a new everything, then spends the summer doing loads of cycling and getting incredibly fit. Then come the autumn, he puts it away and does very little for 6 months. I can't believe he's willing to lose his fitness like that! he's reasonably tolerant/supportive of my running, having been an obsessive climber (he's a lot older than I am) he can see I need to do these things now while I can.

Thinking about it, I reckon it's the social side of my running he struggles with; part of the enjoyment I get from running is seeing friends, meeting people etc and have a wide circle of running acqaintances, whereas he nearly always cycles on his own, not member of a club etc. But this is just part of our different personalities.