Just a little bit further - 2011

Hi Everyone

I've been running for 12 months and have really appreciated the beginners thread for Jan 2010. But by the end there were just a few of us left, so we've decided to begin a new thread for this year and welcome anyone else who would like to join us for friendly chat, support and encouragement with whatever your goals are in 2011.

As a little personal intro - I'm 35, mother of four small girls (aged 3-8) who frequently run with me. My prefered training distance is 5miles - mainly cos I can't manage to fit in longer runs.My aim for this year is to improve my 5k time, find enough short races to keep my girls happy, and try a short triahlon.I started running in order to accompany my eldest daughter and then fell in love it with myself! Now  I'm a complete adict image

Please join in this thread, we are a friendly bunch and would love to cheer you on.

Chilibean

Comments

• Don't know where you are but there are plenty of 5K/5 Mile runs in the North West coming up in the first half of 2011!

EDIT:  Forgot to mention that all can be found under the 'events' page of RW

• Hello
    I did my first race back in 2008, but didn't really start following a programme or running anything close to reasonable mileage until last January. So although I wasn't technically a beginner last year, I think I fall within 'novice' category now as I've had a year of running around 15-20 miles a week. I think, if it's ok, I'll join your thread too!

T
  • Only been running for a year this time around. Started with a 10k at sports relief in March, so started this time last year for that. Have been fairly addicted since entering events most weeks from 5k's to HM's. My aim is just not to come last, which so far I have achieved.
  • hi chilibean, im not a newbie but not a seasoned pro like some on threads ! ive been running for 2 years in april and share your woe in not fitting in long runs because of being a mumimage