Loch Ness Marathon 2012

Comments

• I've signed up!!  I'll be joining you all on 30Sep for my 1st marathon.  Slightly scared - oh yes! a touch excited - definately!! 

I've been running for 2 years and have done a 10k and 2 halfs so now its time for the big one.  Hopefully I'll survive the training - I've been following Shades plan after a recommendation on another thread and so far really like it, totally works for my running and lifestyle

Looking forward to getting to know all of you and hearing how your trainings progressing.

• Welcome Heather! If you've read through all the posts so far you will find that by the looks of things I'm miles behind every1 elses training in terms of distance and pace but thought I'd say hi anyway

Happy Training!
  • I'm doing Loch Ness this year image

It was my first ever marathon back in 2008 and I panicked so much about being able to finish it that I just sort of blanked it out and did no training at all. Absolutely none. Ended up mostly walking from 16 miles but still got to the end eventually.

I'd like to say I'll put in a better performance this year but it's just two weeks after a 40 miler I've signed up for so don't think I'll be setting any PBs...

And yes, the hill at 18 miles is a bit of a monster. Although in my memory, it started at about 16 miles and went on to about 21 miles. I may be misremembering of course. But it was definitely an utter b***ard!

• hello again everyone, I haven't posted for a while but have been putting into practice the excellent advice I got earlier in the thread on distance vs speed.

Last weekend I ran my first 20 miler and you were right, the speed is coming all on its own. I'm still sticking to my 3 runs plus 2 cross training sessions schedule and still hoping (fingers crossed) for a sub 4 hour. At the moment I'm hitting 3.10 for 20 miles so lets hope thats reduced in 12 weeksimage

soooooooooooo excited.