Ipod speaker for running?

Hi everyone!

I'm a bit of an amateur runner so I'm hoping someone here will be able to help me!

I like listening to music from my ipod touch while running... but I also like to be aware of what's going on around me as I run alone (well with my dog!) in woodland. I don't like wearing headphones so I'm looking out for some sort of portable speaker that won't mind being shaken about in my pocket!

Something like this would be ideal  http://www.safesoundsports.com/product.html  - anyone any idea where I could get hold of anything like that in the UK?

Or any suggestions of anything that works for you?

Thanks image

Comments

• If it is an Ipod Nano you can play directly from your ipod...  OK a little tinny and not massively loud but works find...  I know from personal experience when my cable came unconnected and ran 4 miles without it in thinking I had hearing issues!  As it was some what quieter!

• Ian MIan M ✭✭✭
    I'm just off to get a tea and biccies before settling down as I feel this could be a good un image

In a couple of mtb races I stuck a set of PC speakers, subwoofer, 12 volt battery and an mp3 player in a huge saddle bag.
    This was so that I could have Chemical Brothers belting out at a decent volume on night laps.
    It was quite handy because people got out the way really quickly presumably assuming some scrote in a chaved up corsa was probably about to run them over image
  • why don't you steal a mobile from a teenager, they seem to like blaring out music to annoy all whilst out and about.

Seriously - you want to run and then have your choice of music playing out to eveyone. Show some consideration. get good earphones, put one in if you are wary, or two in and volume down. Better still if you are running in remote places wear none and enjoy the peace.

• Thanks for the replies.