Post Swim Stomach Pain

Hi all, I have been training for about two to three months now in preparation of my first Triathlon in May. Having come from a strong running background I can say that training has been going well - even in the swim!

However on the last few swim sessions I have suffered some stomach pain after the swim, usually either toward the end of an hours swim or about 10 - 15 mins after the swim. The worst yet being this morning and the remains still with me hours later.

Has anyone ever experienced this? Obviously this CAN NOT happen on race day or I will be unable to cycle after the swim!

Any insight or advice is gratefully received.

Thanks all.

Nath 

Comments

• Put the issues to running .... if it happened when you were running you would examine your diet, if you had tried something new or eaten later than normal et.c

You would look to see if you have changed anything ....

Drunk too much, drunk too little

Look at posture ...

Taking in too much air

Tied your laces too tight .. (ok maybe not this one)     image

All these things apply to swimming, the reasons dont have to be complicated just because its water based

My guess would be if it is lasting this long that it is likely to be postural/muscular  .... are you relaxed when swimming?
  • Was your stomach bloated? That'd be a sign of taking in too much air.
  • in that case there are an awful lot of pirates taking in a lot of air     image
  • hmmmm - I have recently started to breather bilaterally rather than rely on one side as advised by my swim coach, it has made me faster but as I think about it, perhaps the two coincide......

I have also googled it and it would appear that it may be due to an "unrelaxed breathing form" and getting too much air into the body and causing a panic state!

So...... I need to work on nice even breathes... great - something else to think about while swimming! It's a wonder why I have not drowned yet!