barefoot running

Hey,

I am planning on taking a little stray from regular runnnig and try out barefoot running... it sound strange I know but those of you who know what I am talking about will hopefully be able to bare with me... anyhows I am looking to purchase some barefoot running shoes

here is a link of what the look like

http://www.google.com/imgres?imgurl=http://www.efb-biosafety.org/wp-content/uploads/2011/01/barefoot-running-shoes.jpg&imgrefurl=http://www.efb-biosafety.org/how-long-do-mens-running-shoes-last.html/barefoot-running-shoes&usg=__-EowKMTd97HWBXyFGEVyfEtLo7w=&h=412&w=600&sz=30&hl=en&start=0&sig2=pAYhEll7jiRLXvawFgJoPA&zoom=1&tbnid=Bxm1MsFbl9nlqM:&tbnh=137&tbnw=200&ei=6iu5Tfq-MMeV8QOI2LUs&prev=/search?q=barefoot+running+shoes&um=1&hl=en&sa=N&biw=1280&bih=834&tbm=isch&um=1&itbs=1&iact=hc&vpx=513&vpy=140&dur=617&hovh=186&hovw=271&tx=159&ty=133&page=1&ndsp=22&ved=1t:429,r:2,s:0

as I am new to this I have no experience in the sport nore the gear is anyone able to let me know if there is anything i should know before purchasing these shoes and where the best place to either get information about them or buy them is?

thanks, image

Comments

• There are loads of threads on this gear forum about choosing barefoot shoes. Try a quick search and you should get plenty of info. Also the US version of the Runners World site has a dedicated barefoot forum. There are also loads of barefoot running blogs which go into great detail about 'shoes'. Google is your friend on this one.

You say you have no experience in this sport, so I'm slightly curious why you immediately want to try barefoot. I would suggest that you can get yourself in a real mess injury-wise without a good understanding of traditional running technique in the first instance.