Bupa London 10,000 - Sunday 27 May 2012

Comments

• Understand Bob.  I'm not a serious runner by any stretch, espec with my times image

Good luck swith the British 10k, let's hope you don't need to moan!!

• trigger2trigger2 ✭✭✭
    andyp - was doing "baggage" in 2008 so does that mean I'm an ever present?  That was the first year and it rained so badly that even the flooring of the marquis where we were looking after the bags was under waterimage
  • That definitely counts Trigger2. I always admire the volunteers at events who have to be around for much longer than it takes us to run the distance. They don't get the chance to warm up by exercising like the participants.

My neighbour ran in 2008 and was the preverbial "drowned rat"...
  • I wonder if anyone has any idea how long it's safe to leave it before entering? I'm new to running and would like to leave it another month to six weeks before making a decision over whether I'll be ready for the distance by then so that I'll be more confident telling people what I'm doing, but I really want to do this one, even though it's not local to me (mainly due to the date giving me extra motivation) and if all the places are likely to be taken by then, then I'll enter sooner, and if I have to walk part of it, so be it.

Also, some other questions, and I figure this is the best place to ask them because people who've run the event before are more likely to see:

1) I don't suppose I'll be able to listen to my iPod while I run (on an armband)? If I'm going to have to learn to run without the assistance of music, then I'll have to start weaning myself off as soon as I no longer need the couch to 5k app.