Options

Where exactly is the midfoot?

DMaxDMax ✭✭✭

Hi,

I am new to running and I guess the advantage to that is that my slate is clean as far as technique is concerned.

I have read that the midfoot footstrike is best, but can someone tell me exactly where the midfoot is? I have played it through in my head and to land midfoot seems to present an imagine to me of running flat footed but I cannot think that it means running flat footed.

Any help would be much appreciated.

Thanks,
D. 

Comments

• Options
    Ian MIan M ✭✭✭
    That's good timing, as this very subject was being discussed elsewhere this morning.
    http://groups.google.com/group/huaraches/browse_thread/thread/47c779fec2c37e8f#
  • Options
    DMaxDMax ✭✭✭

Thanks Ian,

I guess there is still a lot of confusion about the name of the strike rather than the actual act of putting it into effect.

I have asked this because my back used to hurt when running and it was purely about bad form.

I ran a mile to try and guage a running style at the weekend and found I run slightly forefooted as it seemed to fit in with looking ahead and leaning my body slightly forward from the ankle.

I was happy that my back didnt ache after my short run. 

Only time will tell if I settle into this or change my foot strike to land more 'midfooted'

Unless anyone can give me some clear way of knowing that I am running midfooted, I think I will stick to the slight forefoot strike. Is there some way to adjust the body to ensure a midfoot strike?

Does anyone know if such a thing as running coach exists for this sort of thing?

• Options
    Ian MIan M ✭✭✭
    I thought this from that link was an interesting point -

Part of the confusion is also due to comparing barefoot and shod
    running. When you look at shod runners, mid foot tends to be more
    common than pure forefoot, but the foot inside the shoe is actually in
    a forefoot landing position if there is a heel lift. This is why I