What Do you Train in?

I've always tracked my distances in miles on my Garmin nd since this is my first year of triathlons I've noticed that alot of the events are displayed in km.

what do you train in?

Should I change to km?

I know it wont hurt me if I carry on training in miles but surely some bennifit changing to km?

Comments

• Imperial all the way, although I am a big fan of metric as you have the satisfaction of moving 1.609344 quicker, numerically.

Rw
  • On a hike in Costa Rica once some americans were very impressed how quicky I could convert miles into kilometers and back again. Are you a scientist they asked. No I'm a runner. image
  • My Garmin measures miles but autolaps every km.  No particular reason though.  I never use it in races anyway.  No need to change unless you rely on distance markers in races, which you shouldn't do since they're about as accurate as I am at darts after a few pints of Erdinger.
  • I work in km despite having been taught in imperial (I am getting on a bit)

I don't "get" that people who are taught in metric, and live in a metric world (bar pints & miles) work in imperial units. where's the rationale??

as it happens I'm like NLR and can swap between the 2 easily enough but prefer the simplicity of metric.

and all tri events are based in metric 'cos quite simply it's the ITU as an international org who call the shots, and the BTF follow
  • I'm guessing that we were brought up as imperial was on the way out and metric coming in. My mum still looks at the weather forecast and sees 28c sunny and says "whats that in farenheit?" Why? image
  • Outlaw had mile markers on the run (well, 5 mile markers to be exact).  Mind you, on an IM run they could use miles, km, furlongs, perches or whatever, as long as it gives a vague idea of how far through and breaks it into manageable chunks I don't really care.

I've never really understood the logic of a 10km race that has mile markers, to be honest.