SUB 15Min 5KM

I have posted on other threads,

I have recently recovered from major head surgery this year and wanted to resume my running, I have been training for around 2 months and the last 6 weeks I have done nothing but bed rest..

So,

I am going for a SUB 15 minute 5KM for the track season next year..I ran a 5KM race 4 years ago in 2008 in 17:01 and haven't ran since this year, I have been running roughly 15 miles a week just doing steady runs every few days.

achievable?

I can use the XC season starting October too..

Has anyone any tips or training plans as I cant seem to find anything half decent.

Any inspiration greatly appreciated

Comments

• How old are you and how long had you been training before the 17:01?
  • I am 22 now.

I had been training for about 1-2 years coming from basically nothing to some solid sessions.

I mainly ran 1500 and 800 and stepped up to 5KM once I did XC season in 2008

• What 1500 and 800 times did you run?

There won't be a specific training plan for sub 15 like there are for sub 4 marathons, sub 40 10ks etc.  You're just going to have to learn the basics on how to train and adapt sessions for your fitness, either that or find a coach.

Edit: In fact pick a popular running coach, buy/borrow his book and there should be good training plans in there.  I think Jack Daniels is a safe bet.

• jack Daniels? What book would you suggest?

I ran a 4:21 1500 and 2:08 800m when I was 17 in 2007,

ran XC over the end of that summer over to 2008 and ran one 5KM race in 17:01 ran 1 10KM race in 36:37 on road and then was in a nasty accident in March that year and then had two major operations since then and not ran since this year around April time.. my operation was 23rd June which i was out of action for a solid month

• Pammie*Pammie* ✭✭✭

Daniels Running Formula

Daniels

this gives you an idea what paces to run for each workout. Link below 1st table for some additional reading. But i throughly recommmend the book