MK marathon?

I've not done a marathon yet, although I've been running for about 3 years now and have done a few 10ks, 10 miles, a half and another half in a few weeks. I *was* thinking that I would put off doing a full mara for another year until my smallest child starts school as I struggle to fit in the juggle of work, running, spending enough time with kids etc. etc. On the one hand I figure I'll be needing to take four hours our of one weekend day for a good few months. Precious time with my kids, especially the 3 year old. But if truth be known, am itching to push myself a bit further, and I keep on coming across the new Milton Keynes mara. Is anyone doing this? Is it a decent course? What to do??

Comments

• I think it is a very healthy thing for your children to know you run and that it is important to you. They will not forget seeing you cross the finish line and it may even get them running as adults when they finally realize what you actually did. If it is important to you then it should be important to your other half and between you both come up with a plan to accommodate training. Good luck.
  • Why not just run a marathon on your own? All you need is a GPS watch, an idea of where you want to run (preferably out and back), and 1 or 2 bottles of water hidden along the route. You can even ask someone to accompany you on bike if you wish.

This way you can run where you want, when you want.

However if you still want to enter a race, it probably isn't best to run a new race that no one has done before.
  • Nessie - I live close to MK and was very tempted to do this one as my first marathon, but I'd booked to do Brighton the same month.

Reading about it and talking to local runners, it looks like it follows the course of an old marathon. It will be flat but not especially pretty (unless MK is your thing). I think there was a thread about it on here a few months back.

Good luck if you decide to give it a go.