Options

Stroud Half 2011 = First Half Ever!

Hi Everyone,

Well...I have agreed to run the Stroud Half Marathon for a local charity - Gloucestershire Wildlife Trust - I started running after quitting smoking and I have worked out that the Stroud half will be exactly 6 months to the day since I first tied on my running shoes image

I have been following a training plan and I'm due to go for a 12 mile training run tomorrow, I did 11 last Sunday, 10 the Sunday before etc as well as running with a club and other training runs during the week...I believe in the training but to say I'm a little bit anxious would be a HUGE understatement, and I'm having a slight confidence crisis or as my friend refers to it a case of the "pre-race freak outs".

Is there anyone out there who is or has run this race? Any info/advice anyone could give me would be really appreciated image

Thanks in advance

Carley xx

Comments

• Options
    Hi Carley,

I'm pretty new to running too, getting on for about 8 months or so, and have just done my first race...the GNR, I felt exactly the same as my training had not gone to plan with injuries and was not able to run for a few weeks before the event, Now after doing it I realise I had nothing to worry about, I was fine on the day and am still buzzing about it, in fact I would do it again tomorrow.

You really have covered the milage to enable you to do this, and your adrenaline come race day will fire you up too, everytime you get a head rush take some deep breaths, focus and tell yourself that you can do this, or any other positive mantra that works for you, your legs have already done the hard work but your brain needs convincing, I think it is just fear of the unknown and perfectly normal.

Good luck.....you CAN! do this
  • Options

Carly