Options

Smoking... It's not good.

13»

Comments

• Options

Day 6 still not smoking arm stopped itching but now getting a wheezy chest and cough, but felt quite strong and determined today, just come back from a spin glass

Not one puff

Twinkle

• Options
    BoDukeBoDuke ✭✭✭
    Good work guys.

Been off five and a half weeks now. Still using the NRT, but a lot less than before. Problem is getting to be in increase in appetite. Nightmare
  • Options
    Have you tried joining a running group? That might help get a few extra miles in and keep any weight gain down. They are normally very encouraging.
  • Options
    Hi All.

Currently 14 days and 17 hours since last smoke @ bedtime on New Years day. My main motivation for quitting was to see an improvement in my running times, which is a bit silly but whatever works for you.

I've been running for 6-9 months or so on an off. Up till November my quickest times were 24:30 for 5k and 51:30 for 10k. I didn't run at all in December and gave up on 2nd of Jan.

Since then I have run

5k - 23:45 in a like for like situation (around parks) and 22:37 in my first ever 5k race.

10k - 49:57 in like for like situation.

I'm sure some of this can be explained by other factors (not sure what) but most of it is down to quitting smoking I believe.

One point I wanted to make was when you quit there is a difference between "thinking about smoking" and "craving smoking" when I quit for the first few days would say I thought about it every 10 minutes or so and craved it every hour. I now reckon I think about it every hour and crave it maybe twice a day. When something governs your life for so long it takes time to let it go.
  • Options

Hi Jamie