South Downs Marathon, Half Marathon & 5K

Comments

• Trippr - I'm no expert but I have Kanadia TR3's which I consider to be pretty hardcore trail shoes, and I love them for muddy/sandy routes -  I also have Asics Gel Trabuco (new, can't remember the number) which are a much more forgiving "hybrid" shoe with plenty of cushioning.

I usually run about 1.7 miles on the road to and from the forest in the Kanadias, which is wearing the tread down at an alarming rate, but isn't uncomfortable over that sort of distance. I certainly wouldn't want to run a marathon in them on decent paths.

• RedheadRedhead ✭✭✭
    For my twopenneth, if it's been wet and the paths are muddy then I shall wear my trail shoes as they give good grip on slippery chalk. Mine have plenty of cushioning in as well and I've done both the Steyning Stinger and Beachy Head in them.

Trippr, you just need to try them out on one of your off-road long runs to see how comfortable they are.
  • @Chillies for breakfast - I do my best to run on as much grass as I can find while running to the trail route.

@Redhead are you talking about running the south downs if it's been raining? I'll take both pairs of shoes down with me and decide on the day. 

I've done 7 miles in them and they felt pretty comfy. I tried on a bunch of pairs in the shop and these were the most cushioned by far.

Really excited about the Marathon now. Done my first hill session last night, just under 7miles with 8 reps of a 0.35mi hill. Elevation gain was just under 600 feet tho... think I need to find a longer hill! 

• Hello!

I'm also doing the full marathon this year after a few go's in previous years at the relay! Like Trippr I also did Brighton 2 weeks ago (with a new sub 4 pb!!), not sure where to go with my training now to be ready for June 9th, any suggestions??? image

• Hog-mouseHog-mouse ✭✭✭

Off road hill work.