London Marathon

Hi All

I'm following a plan online and am doing a 15 mile training run tomorrow.

Just feeling a bit down as Im not feeling any fitter than when I started training for this event.  I seem to have put on weight and every run seems to be a struggle..... I'm worried im not going to make it round at this rate!

Any advice greatfully received image

Comments

• PiersPiers ✭✭✭
    Hi Emma,

Training for a marathon is a long slow process so to you it may seem that you are not getting any fitter when in reality you are - don't forget you are planning a 15 mile run which 99% of the population couldn't even imagine.

Why do you not feel fitter? Is it just you are feeling a bit under the weather; it's the time of year for colds and running does suppress the immune system so the slightest hint of a cold can make you feel like curling up on the sofa with a pack of biscuits.

Talking of which; is this where the weight is coming from? When training for marathons I feel that I should be able to eat what I want and then put I pile on the weight.

Motivation - Can you hook up with a running buddy?

Piers
  • Hi Piers

That is very true and if someone had told me even 2 years ago I would be able to run 15 miles, I would have thought they were crazy!

I think you could be right, perhaps just feeling a bit rundown today and my daughter is just getting over a sickness bug so hope I havent picked that up.

I think I've been eating the wrong things... going to be more careful about what I eat from now on and really concentrate on inreasing my fitness.  I tend to only do comfortable runs (I'm a plodder) and not fast runs or interval training so I guess if I start to do some of those things then that should increase my fitness.

I occassionaly run with others at lunchtime from work but my long runs and when i do the marathon will be on my own.

Emma

• PiersPiers ✭✭✭
    Emma,

Hope you aren't going down with anything, but make sure you eat and drink well.