Where do I go now?

I've been training for around 3 months on a regular basis, loosing around a stone in the last month and a half, and now running 5-6.5 miles 3 times a week, at around avg 10.15 pace. I feel comfortable, I'm enjoying it, I'm not feeling too tired when I get home and its all working...

so the question is do I now try longer runs, (subject to the +10% guide a week), or faster, or more? or start getting into the training more seriously (intervals etc)? Should I join a running club?

My goal is to loose another couple of stone, I'm booking in for a couple of 10K's in may and june, and generally get fitter.. Male 42 16 stone.

any ideas?

Comments

• Hog-mouseHog-mouse ✭✭✭

You can increase the distance of one of your runs - obviously on the day that you have most time. You can use the 10% guide if you like though it is not the only way to increase distance, it's easiest to follow.

Running faster? Well intervals or reps will help with the weight loss and getting fitter quicker though I'm worried about it with your weight. You can of course go to the gym and do intervals on any piece of equipment or with weights rather than run. This will remove the risk of injury from impact of running.

Really it all depends on what you want out of your running. Not everyone wants to run far or fast. As you say your main motive is to lose weight and get fitter, then as above, throw in some other exercise.

If you want to get serious about running and not xtrain then joining a running club and doing a variety of different workouts will see you fit.

• What do you want to do?

Are you booking in the 10k's because you really want to do well over that distance, and increase your speed, or are they a stepping stone to longer distances?

Not everyone wants to do races - some just run because they enjoy it. If what you are currently doing achieves for you what you want then you don't need to feel under pressure to change it.