Fatigue

I'm back into my training nicely - but could not go for my scheduled run last night as my whole body felt heavy and fatigued. I now feel as though i've blown the whole thing by not going out last night, as i can't get out this evening due to other commitments.

Did i do the right thing by taking a rest when i should have been running, or should i have taken a gentle jog to keep the momentum up? I'm only doing two miles every other day but have planned to step it up to three miles on Saturday.

Pitiful distance i know, but i am a proper beginner on my third attempt - and this time i have a 10k booked for May 27th, which i know i can do. I just think i've let myself down by taking a rest!!

Comments

• Morning Dean - it's just one run so don't beat yourself up! How about next time you feel that bad you get changed, set off walking and then see if you feel like jogging/running after 10 minutes or so. 

If you just end up walking the route you've still had a bit of exercise which may act as a recovery session. Sometimes, I set off tired but find that after 5 to10 minutes I actually feel ok, other days I don't.  Getting out the door is half the battle and one of those things that becomes habit after a while.

Don't give up - everyone has to start somewhere!  I usually operate to  the principle that if I can do 90% of my schedule - I'll be ok!

Good luck with the 10k - just keep at it and you'll be fine! image

• I think if you are really that tired then you did the right thing listening to your body and resting - don't beat yourself up about it.

just get back to training when you can- a couple of days off when you are tired can only do you good not harm. 

also, you might like to consider a more varied training schedule to help keep it fresh and interesting  - there's a good couple here that fit in with the 8 weeks before your 10k 

http://www.runnersworld.co.uk/racing/rws-8-week-10k-schedule-3-days-per-week/76.html