Would you point out someone's bad technique?

This has now happened to me twice - the first it was my terrible front crawl that prompted comments from a stranger about what I was doing wrong and how I could improve.Then today another stranger stopped me when cycling uphill and explained how my form meant I was uneconomical and making things harder for myself.

In both instances I accepted and appreciated the feedback as I am a relative novice, but it got me thinking that some people would be put off by such comments by stranger and I would never myself point out if I though someone had bad technique at running for example. So .... would you point out if you saw someone swimming/biking/runnning (or other sports I guess) with poor techniqe? Would you mind if someone did it to you? Anyone else ever been stopped and told what they were doing wrong? and did you mind?  I also wondered if there was any relevance that in both instances it was a older guy giving pointers to a younger female. 

Comments

• SuperCazSuperCaz ✭✭✭

I would welcome any advice that I was offered as long as it came from someone with more experience than me.

I would love to offer advice to others in some situations.  In the pool I almost have a compulsion to help people with their stroke but so far I have never done so unless the conversation has turned that way.  If someone tells me that they think they are a rubbish swimmer then I would tell them that their stroke wasn't bad but they could do with bending their elbows more, for example.

Giving advice to someone who you haven't had a conversation with is a difficult one as it can be interpreted as rude, so I generally wouldn't do it.  Also you don't know their limitations.  The lady who does backstroke but has her arms too far out to the side might be doing that as she doens't have full range of motion in the shoulders and might know full well what she should be doing.