Options

5K - for anyone else who's been told it's easy

2»

Comments

• Options

Hi all, I posted on the beginners thread and thought I'd hop on here too, I'm just starting out so 5k is my first goal, signed up to the gym and my first run will be on Friday, I'm looking forward to it as I've had enough of feeling unfit.  Well done to everyone who's made it and good luck to all those still trying.

• Options

candowilldo, are you running at the gym, or are you outdoors?

• Options

Hi Di Newton, for now I'll be at the gym doing a whole range of cardio work to build up my base fitness and will then start to incorporate running outdoors, I love being outside so I'm looking forward to getting out and running.

• Options

Great stuff. I don't got to a gym but am running 6 miles for my longest run each week. I've just started pilates, which I hope will help too. I've done one 5k and am entering Pudding Race 10k in December. Loads of time to prepare (I hope).

You can just call me Di! x

• Options

Cheers Di, I'm not totally new to running I used to go to the gym quite regularly but havn't done anything serious for over four years, and I've never ran outdoors.  Looking through the threads here it seems there's plenty of people to gain inspiration and advice from.

Well done on your progress so far, how long has it taken you to get to 6miles?

Im Mark by the way

• Options

imageNone of it matters!...forget the doubters!...anyone who puts their trainers on and gets out the door and does their thing is a runner!

Time to give each other a pat on the back, quick smile and get out there!!! 

End of April I was 76.1kg tried to run 1.5 miles and saw my dinner for the second time, felt a total loser...I am ex Army so this was a real wake up call...

So far am now 69.5kg....running about 20 miles a week...fast nope...enjoying it...HELL YEAH!