body step and training for GNR

hi all, this is my 1st post.

I have been keeping fit for a couple of years by doing a lot of exercise classes, body step, body pump and body combat. I do 5 a week and also do a very slow 10k run on a sunday (about 64 mins).

I've got a charity place today for the GNR. I'm not a good runner and max i have run is 10 miles but that before having my daughter.

I'm basically asking, as the GNR is only a couple of months away, how many classes can i do a week as well as my running? i love my classes and dont want to give them up completely.

Sarah x

Comments

• Hi Sarah!!

You sound exactly like I was when I started running around 2004. I probably did 10 classes a week at the peak and rarely ran as I found it boring. However I entered the Womens 10k in Glasgow in 2005 off the back of the general fitness the classes gave me. I did virtually no running and still finished under the hour. As I got more into the races and upped my distance to the Half the following year I did more running (namely a couple of approx 5-7k a week and a longer run at the weekend). I got faster but I kept up my classes and rarely substituted them as although I enjoyed the races I still find/found plodding round a chore.

As the years have progressed I now have different sessions and training is much more mixed. I have now done a couple of triathlons (as well as  marathons and will be doing my 1st Ultra next month) so as well as running and cycling I also swim but I also do a few classes as well as I enjoy them and know I wont get bored and stop.