Half marathon to marathon fear!

Hi everyone, this is my first post.

I have been running half marathons for four years at one a year. HA i know all that training for a measly one but i absolutly LOVE it. I am doing 2 this year and am really tempted to put my training to good use and do a full marathon in October but I am terrified. I am currently at 11 miles and running 2 days on one day off until my body takes no more then i rest for 2-3 days. This is usually in the form of 1 long run and one run of 6-7 miles of fartlecking (when i can make my legs move).

Can anyone give me inspiration, motivation, and good kick up the bum and let me know what extra work needs to be done to achieve the marathon status.

I have more difficulty with the mental side of long distances than the tiredness, but also the fear of dehydration and the pain that comes post 13 miles.  any advice, scary or inspiring is welcome.

oh I am also doing a degree that is 9-5 mon-fri and working from 6am-12 at weekends so sometimes find energy can lack due to this.

thanks

Comments

• not wanting to put you off, but from experience you should get your long run up to 20 miles min.
    Also i read somewhere that the halfway point in a marathon is not 13 miles, its 20 miles, as the last 6 miles are so hard - i would agree with that! keep it in mind when training.
    good luck!

• E mmyE mmy ✭✭✭

I think I'd focus on building a strong base this year and then moving forward to marathon's next year. There's noone saying you cant - anyone can run a marathon if they're stubborn enough - the question is - how much will it hurt.

How long is your long run? You say you're up to 11 miles. Is that in your long run? Are you just doing long runs and Fartleks?

I'd recommend looking at a good half marathon plan and build yourself up from there. A marathon is a great aim - but you need to respect it.