Newbie alert!

Hi guys, My name is jamie, I'm fairly new to this and although I have been doing some running on and off for nearly a year now and completed my first event - tough mudder - in may, I couldn't really call it training. My sessions are sporadic and unorganised so I could defo use some help in that department. Distance doesn't seem to be so much a problem as speed - I can do 5-10k on my runs at a steady pace but it doesn't feel very quick. I'd like to enter a race for motivation but would like to get quicker first and not sure what a sensible time scale to train for it would be. The other thing is i now cycle to work, 5miles each way, and I'm not sure whether this is going to be a good or bad thing for my training! I don't have regular days and this is usually 4 days a week so I feel trying to fit a schedule around the remaining 3 days without a regular complete rest day would be barmy. Should I still train on days where I am about to / have already cycled 10miles? And is this going to improve my cardio or just knacker me out so I can't run? Oh I must also mention I do taekwondo on mondays and fridays if possible and I live at the top of a ridiculous hill so doing 'hill training' shouldn't be a problem lol!

Comments

• Funny I swear I put gaps in there to make it more readable lol
  • Just my thoughts. I cycle all the time and also run. I cycle for fun. Doing 10 mile cycle should not really effect too much. I'd run 10 miles then think not much of it to go out for a ride on the bike. Cross training I believe is a good thing. However the only way to get better at running is by running. Don't over do it though. Also I wouldn't worry about getting faster before doing an event. If your happy doing 10k in training get out there and do some events. It wont hurt. I'm slow as a week in Jail 56.03 PB in 10k but I love it and I don't usually finish too near the back and if I did it wouldn't bother me in the slightest.